Posted by: MtnWoman Silver | November 25, 2009

MtnSilver Has Discovered Andrew Polk, Abstract Painter from Arizona?

I have just discovered an abstract painter (new to me) who is not only an exciting visual artist but also a writer. His name is Andrew Polk, of Arizona. http://www.andrewpolk.com/index.htm and on his website is a category called Statements. In this category, he has written several statements each associated with a particular painting. I found his writing both inspirational and instructive. Statements are often difficult to write, especially for us visually oriented people. I do hope you will check his site out although it appears it is only up to 2004. I tried finding more current information on him but was unsuccessful. I do know he is still a practicing artist because he will be teaching a one-day workshop in Oklahoma City in March, 2010. I would love to hear from anyone who has more current knowledge of him.

© MtnWoman Silver and MtnWoman Silver Speaks, 2009


Responses

  1. Hi. Don’t know about Andrew Polk, sorry to say. I will visit his site. Perhaps there’s a contact plug there? Also, just wanted you to know I’ve invited my readers to visit your new website and blog, though that may not mean anything. I hope they’ll be as happy to discover you as I was to “re” discover you recently.

  2. It’s me again! Just popped in there, and he’s at the U of Arizona. There’s an email url in there, but that may not be all that accurate. I’ll bet he’d like to hear from you. It’s worth a try anyway.

  3. Silver I just read the article and it is wonderful. Very impressive. I particularly like the art work that she showed. Good luck with Andrew Polk.


Leave a comment

Categories